Why three is just right, right now.

We marked all the conventional checkboxes: graduate from college, get a job, get married, buy a house. We even took it a step further and added a puppy to the mix. So it would seem the next inevitable next step after all the k-i-s-s-i-n-g in the tree is to have kids.

There’s no doubt that we want a family someday, and we even bicker over a few name choices now and then, but there are times when I really want kids, and I want them now. Like when we go back to Riceville for the weekend and play with our nieces and nephew. At three, four and five, they’re spunky little balls of energy and we’ve learned to come highly caffeinated to keep up with the countless piggy-back rides and games of hide-and-go-seek. After just a couple hours of watching Jared play with those kiddos, and seeing how much they adore him, I get excited thinking about what life would be like with kids of our own. Knowing that we want the same things for our future family adds only makes us want one that much more.

PicMonkey Collage

And there are times that I see footie pajamas on sale at Target or a cute “mom haircut” on Pinterest and I think we should start having kids…these are the very serious thoughts that go through my wannabe-mommy mind.

Then, being the indecisive woman that I am, there times I don’t want kids, at least not in the foreseeable future. I’ll admit that it’s been quite the change of pace now that we haven’t gotten married, gone on a trip, bought a car, bought a house or switched jobs in the last…err…three months. While I wasn’t sure what we’d do with this newfound abundance of “free time,” I was SO looking forward to just enjoying one another’s company; and we’re doing just that, now shared with a dog under our very own roof.

We also love traveling and find ourselves continually tallying up another city to our bucket list of places to visit, including Nashville, Louisville, New Orleans, Colorado, Philadelphia and maybe even a couple’s trip or three. We certainly want to travel as a family someday but I have a hunch that barhopping on Bourbon Street would be a bit of a buzzkill with a baby in tow.

Aside from our freedom to pick up and go, having the money to do so kinda sorta helps. The other day, my boss mentioned a Des Moines area high school that cost….take a deep breath here…$7,500 per child, per year.

And, exhale.

I remember attending class registration with my parents throughout school and I’m pretty sure a year’s worth of classes was comparable to my lunch money check (and yeah, I’m a big eater but still). So anyway, $7,500 is the going rate these days. We’re fortunate to have settled into a smaller community and school district, with the hope that cost of living and education expenses reflect that. We’ll find out sooner or later, hopefully much, much later.

And then there are days when I’m recovering from the night before and consider myself productive if I so much as shower and muster up the ambition to get Hy-Chi. Those are days I do. not. want. kids. (These would be thoughts that run through my very mature not-ready-to-be-a-mommy mind.)

Long story short, I look forward to the days of donning a new hairstyle, shopping Target sale racks and starting a family, but in the meantime, three is just right, right now.

One thought on “Why three is just right, right now.

Leave a Reply

