Currently | 3.11.18

It’s been over a year since I shared one of these “Currently” style posts with y’all and I think it’s about time to share what’s happening in the Foss household these days.

Watching: Selection Sunday. Jared has had the countdown on the calendar for weeks but I’m not going to lie, March Madness has a little different feel this year knowing that we won’t be seeing any cardinal and gold on the court. That said, we have a new fan in training…Maddox loves to climb into his favorite recliner (moose chair) with a stiff drink (bottle) and watch bball with the big boys.  Much to my chagrin, we’ll be sure to keep games playing all week to his little basketball-loving heart’s content.

Prepping: Sheet pan dinners. WHY OH WHY didn’t I discover these timesavers sooner? My strategy is usually to cut up whatever veggies are about to go bad, pair it with some near-freezer burnt shrimp or sausage, toss it in EVOO and S&P and bake until delicious. One pan wonders for the weeknight win!

DIYing: A plank focal wall. Thanks to my amazing hubby and brother-in-law, we installed this wood plank wall a few weeks back and I’m pleased as punch with how it turned out (if you don’t look toooooo close). I also love this canvas print that greets us when we get home after a long day.

Sipping: My go-go juice. As a recovering soda and energy drink chugger, I’ve turned to a healthier caffeine boost that tastes like lemonade without all the sugar and crash effect.

Missing: Maddox in summer clothes. Don’t get me wrong, I love cotton stretch pants as much as the next gal but I’m ready to get this kid back in some cargo shorts and a fedora STAT. Anybody else over their kiddo’s wardrobes as much as your own? #bringonspring

Booking: A class at A|R Workshop in Ankeny. This adorable little studio is a stone’s throw from my work and I’ve been eyeing their canvas and wood plank signs for weeks now. I finally decided on this cute little number to create for our home office. Who wants to grab a bottle of wine and get our crafting on?

Training: For half marathon numbero seis… and siete. I’m not sure what cockamamie ideas have come over me the last few winters when I say, “I want to run a half marathon again,” but lo and behold, I’ve done it, again. The first will be the Des Moines Women’s Half Marathon on May 6, followed by Dam to Dam on June 2. I’ll have a pretty stellar four-legged training partner plus a fun running buddy for both races, so as much as I’m dreading all the hard work, I know it will be worth it!

Saving: For new kicks. With all this running, it dawned on me that my beloved Nikes have put on their fair share of miles over the last two years and I’m thinking it’s about time to invest in a new pair. I’ve searched high and low for a couple months now for just the right pair and lo and behold, these little beauties fell in my lap when I wasn’t looking. (OK, it was more like a sponsored ad on Instagram, but you get my drift. #stopmyscroll) I haven’t owned a pair of Adidas since the signature white sneakers… yea or nay, anyone?

Experimenting: In the kitchen. I’m not much of a baker, mostly because I can’t top the good folks at Ben & Jerry’s or the Girl Scouts for the couple times a week we’re looking to indulge our sweet tooths (teeth?). Anyway, I’m looking to work on my breads and desserts game for weekend treats. First up, homemade soft pretzels! I was nervous when the dough didn’t seem to rise but I’ll admit, with a couple more tries, these soft, buttery braids just might make me pass up Auntie Anne’s version.

Collecting: Quarters to hit the car wash and dog wash every chance we get! We’re looking at 60’s by mid-week which means we’ll be on the wash, rinse, repeat cycle to keep our cars and pup looking so fresh and so clean, clean. It puts everybody in a better mood!

From favorite workouts to bingeworthy Netflix shows, I’d love to know what’s happening in your world these days, too!

Leave a comment