I’m baaaaaack!

Do you guys remember when I used to blog? Yeah, me neither. But it was a thing, way back when. I started my blog as a way to document all the exciting things happening in life: getting engaged, wedding planning, buying a house and getting our pup. Once we settled in to life as married, home-owning puppy parents, I felt like I didn’t have much to share. Though we may not be working toward any huge milestones (sorry, no baby news, people!) there are plenty of other little life celebrations that are worth documenting: getting a new race PR, exploring a new city or finding a perfect wine (because Lord knows I go through 12 bottles before I find a good one. I need to jot these things down!).

So, without further ado…

A new race PR: In May, Jared and I ran our second half marathon (Dam to Dam) and didn’t hold high expectations for completion, let alone time. So when I crossed the finish line at 1:38, one whole minute under our previous race time, I chalked that up as a win. While one minute isn’t much in the long-distance world, it was a personal victory considering our lack of training, endurance and finish-line motivation (no pretty shiny things awaiting me this time…womp, womp, womp). Since then, we’ve run the Exile Brewery 10k (6.2 miles) and a Wapsi Days seven miler, together adding up to the distance of a half marathon, and just a TAD more fun.

Ready for my second half with my better half!
Ready for my second half with my better half!

Exploring a new city: Over Memorial Day weekend, we packed our bags, blared some country tunes and set out for the Music City itself, Nashville. We ate and drank our way around Broadway as we soaked in the live bands and prime people watching. That night, we did much of the same around the Vanderbilt campus before meeting up with our honeymoon friends to relive some of the memories (and the drinks…ooooh, the drinks…) of our Cancun days.. It was great to catch up, but let’s just say it’s good that things like honeymoons and roadtrips don’t happen too often; for the sake of our wallets. And our overall health.

FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3)

From Nashville, we set our sights for Louisville to visit our friends/twins, Kevin and Gabby. Gabby and I worked together at a PR firm in West Des Moines and bonded over a love for food, traveling, FRIENDS and Aaron Paul. (And Leo. And Heath Ledger.) Naturally, Jared and Kevin have a lot of the same interests, too; fantasy football, weather, politics and March Madness.

While Gabby and I actually never even worked in the same office, the four of us had the chance to hang out a few times around Des Moines and at our wedding. That meant it was our turn to head to Louisville! When we arrived, we went on a tour of the (huge, sprawling) town, got the essential photo ops outside Churchill Downs and started to get materials together for a weekend camping and float trip in Indiana. We took in plenty of sunshine, relaxing and campfire meals. (Kevin even discovered a long-lost affinity for s’mores!) ‘Twas a great weekend with great friends.

FullSizeRender (1)

And to round out the rest of our life happenings: finding the perfect wine. I’m currently hooked on a few blends from Fireside Winery. I first met the owners through a work event in Iowa City so when I saw them back at the Downtown Farmers’ Market, I had to try a bottle (OK, two). I’d definitely recommend Storyteller for an easy-drinking, not-too-sweet, Jared-put-the-cork-in-it-before-I-finish-the-bottle kind of wine. So on that note…

See you SOON, all!

2 thoughts on “I’m baaaaaack!

  1. Always a joy reading your blogs honey, you have a gift at writing. And a comical side of things, must have been they way we raised you! Sometimes you just have to laugh at life.😊

Leave a comment